AS Monaco FC

Short history

Stade Louis II was built at the beginning of the 1980's and inaugurated by HRH Prince Rainier III on the 25th of January 1985. The stadium is a huge complex covering some 30 000 square metres and comprises:

  • An open-air stadium
  • An extensive set of facilities and buildings destined for sporting activities
  • A 4 story car park that has 1700 spaces
  • A string of offices around the stadium (economic viability of the complex)

The stadium complex has three main combinations of competitor and spectator installations:

  • The multi-sports centre
  • The aquatic centre
  • The football and athletics stadium

The venue is unique in its design, with the pitch some 8.35 metres above the road level, on top of the car park, totally compliant with UEFA's norms and regulations.

At the end of the 2001-2002 season, a complete transformation was carried out. The position and number of lights were recalculated to produce a much greater uniformity in the lighting. The number of lights was increased from 200 to 340. Two giant screens have been available since July 2008 for information and action replays. Apart from the classics (advertising, club information, clock, team sheets, etc.), they also enable the showing of slow-motion replays of the action on the pitch.

The AS Monaco FC Academy is also part of the complex. It contains individual rooms, a restaurant and associated facilities for the young apprentice football players.


Gallery