ESSMA Announces Second Edition of Stadium Industry Awards

After the resounding success of the inaugural ESSMA Stadium Industry Awards in January 2024 at the iconic Johan Cruijff ArenA, we are thrilled to announce the launch of the second edition of these prestigious awards. The ESSMA Stadium Industry Awards celebrate the outstanding achievements and innovations in the stadium industry, recognizing excellence across various critical areas. Want to learn how yours stadium or club could be nominated for an award? Find out all you need to know in this article.

Reflecting on the First Edition

The first edition of the ESSMA Stadium Industry Awards was a landmark event, showcasing groundbreaking projects and pioneering individuals who have significantly impacted the stadium industry. Hosted during the ESSMA Summit 2024, the event brought together industry leaders and professionals to honor the innovative and creative initiatives that set new standards in stadium management. The winners demonstrated remarkable advancements in technology, fan engagement, and operational excellence, setting a high benchmark for future nominees.

ESSMA SIA Categories 2025

Building on the momentum of our first awards, the 2025 edition will feature five key categories:

  1. Stadium Development: Recognising exceptional projects in stadium design, construction, or renovation that enhance the overall spectator experience, improve operational processes and deliver a long-lasting legacy.
  2. Safety & Security: Honoring initiatives that significantly improve safety protocols, crowd management, or emergency response systems.
  3. Fan Experience: Celebrating innovations that elevate the enjoyment and engagement of fans, from digital enhancements to unique in-stadium activities.
  4. Sustainability: Highlighting efforts to minimise environmental impact through green practices, energy efficiency, and sustainable design.
  5. Accessibility: Acknowledging projects or practices that improve accessibility for all fans, ensuring inclusive and barrier-free stadium experiences.

Why Participate?

The ESSMA Stadium Industry Awards offer a unique platform for stadium professionals to showcase their contributions and gain recognition from peers and industry leaders. By nominating your projects or colleagues, you help spotlight the extraordinary work that is shaping the future of stadium management. Winning an ESSMA Stadium Industry Award not only elevates your profile within the industry but also serves as a benchmark of excellence and innovation.

How to Nominate

We invite all ESSMA members to nominate deserving candidates and projects for the 2025 awards before 31 August 2024. Whether you’re a stadium operator, designer, or part of the broader stadium community, your insights are invaluable in identifying the best and brightest in our field.

Submit your entries via our online form or contact us directly via Don’t miss this opportunity to celebrate and inspire excellence in the stadium industry!

 Submit Your Entry Now! 

Last year's award winners: 



Safety & Security 

  1. Net Positive 2030 – Johan Cruijff ArenA, Netherlands
  2. Integration of CSR initiatives in club licensing – LFP, France
  3. Microplastic reduction – VfL Wolfsburg, Germany
  1. Renovation project Stade de la Meinau - RC Strasbourg, France
  2. Event dock and floodlight construction - Friends Arena, Sweden
  3. Implementation of connectivity network - Manchester United, Englan
  1. Improving safety facilitie – Racing Club de Ferrol, Spain
  2. Safety initiative for group of functional diversity – Real Betis, Spain
  3. Biometric access solution – KAA Gent, Belgium