Industry update: more on disabled fan initiatives, ticketing and UEFA competitions

Read more on an AIK Eternity Card, initiatives for disabled fans at Liverpool FC, UEFA competitions and more in this weekly industry update provided by ESSMA.

Fan Experience & Hospitality

  • AIK Fotboll launched will launch a unique season ticket, the Eternity Card. After purchasing the Eternity card for a fixed price, the ticket holder can visit all home fixtures of AIK Fotboll for the rest of their live. With the initiative AIK Fotboll wants to show its fans, that the club will always be there for them.
  • Liverpool FC won the Disabled People’s Choice Award during the Business Disability Forum Disability-Smart Awards 2018. The club receives the award for its efforts in creating the most inclusive and accessible customer experience for disabled people.

General News

  • In addition to the UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League, a third UEFA competition with 32 clubs will be added to the UEFA Club Competitions from 2021. The new Access List will allow for at least 34 associations to be represented in a group stage (compared to 26 associations currently) in a manner which guarantees that domestic champions are prioritised via dedicated qualifying paths

“I am delighted that the UEFA Executive Committee has agreed to the changes ECA Member Clubs have been calling for. We believe that this outcome ensures that the UEFA club competitions continue to develop in a manner which is fair and balanced, meeting the demands and requirements necessary to ensure that football remains the number one sport globally. I would like to add that this whole process is testimony to the strong collaborative efforts of both ECA and UEFA at all levels.”

ECA Chairman Andrea Agnelli

  • Portugal has been appointed to host the 2019 UEFA Nations League semi-finals and finals. The matches will take place at Estádio D. Afonso Henriques and Estádio do Dragão, home of FC Porto & host of the 2019 ESSMA Summit, between 5 and 9 June 2019.
  • The English Football Association (FA) will host the UEFA Women’s EURO 2021. The proposed host cities will include:
    • Brighton & Hove (Brighton Community Stadium)
    • London (Brentford Community Stadium & Wembley Stadium)
    • Manchester (Manchester City Academy Stadium)
    • Milton Keynes (Stadium MK)
    • Nottingham (City Ground)
    • Rotherham (New York Stadium)
    • Sheffield (Bramall Lane)
    • Southampton (St Mary's Stadium)